celebrating life!

I’ve been pretty MIA recently…sorry about that, dear friends!  Times have been tough, but things are looking up more than ever.  

Isn’t it strange that sometimes it seems we have to hit rock bottom until we fully realize how deeply blessed we really are?  I’ve always been an optimist, but December hasn’t been exactly kind to me…at least that’s what I thought at first… 

Most of you know about my job situation.  Being laid off was a complete shocker.  If you know me, then you probably know that work is one of my top priorities, so when I got the news, I thought life was close to over.  Little did I know that I would pick up a killer job at a company that seems to fit me and my personality oh-so-well.  I start on January 5th, so there will be more on that later. 

SO…

The day after I got the good news about my new position, I was off to a friend’s birthday party with miss Lissa. She was driving…it had been raining all day and the roads were pretty slick.  We accidentally took an exit for 635, so we made a turn around.  Right before we merged back onto 35, Lissa said “You know, when I make a wrong turn, I always think that if I hadn’t have done it, I might have wrecked…”
 Not even a minute later and BOOM!  We wrecked.  Long story short, we were going around a curve and it was too slick – we slammed into the guard rail and spun around 4 or 5 times.  Two very kind women pulled over to help us and call 911. I asked Lissa if she was ok and she said that she was fine – except she was in complete shock, so we didn’t really know if she was hurt or not.  She asked if I was ok and I told her that my head hurt, but I was fine.  My began to throb, so I put my hand on it to create some pressure…when I pulled my hand down it was bloody.  I realized that I had hit my head on something inside the car.  My hair was soaked on the right side of my head and I could feel the blood trickling down my scalp. The ambulance came, checked on Lissa & cleaned me up – since the gash was in my hair and not on my forehead, I didn’t really need stitches (because having a scar in my hair wouldn’t matter).  After everything was said and done, Lissa took some pictures of her poor little car.  We are ok, but that’s much more than we can say for the go-cart: 


This holiday season and I am grateful for life, grateful for my friends & family, grateful to Him, grateful for a job, and grateful that no matter how hard things get, there always seems to be a silver lining.

Leave a Reply

