rant & rave

Hi guys!
I’d just like to preface this with “I love you all, and no, I’m not in a bad mood – I just need to get something off my chest.”
Ok, here goes…

You know what really grinds my gears??? (yes, it’s a Family Guy reference)  🙂

…the small town mind set.  Let me explain.

I grew up in semi-small city.  Well, it’s a bit larger now – there’s even a mix-master bridge!!!!  Anyways…there’s this idea that everyone has in cities/towns like this…I think it’s instilled in our minds as young people.  Sad.

And it’s this –
1. Go to High School
2. Junior Year of HS – figure out which college you are going to
3. Graduate
4. Go to college
5. Decide what you want to do for the REST of your life.  You’re 18!!  C’mon, you should know this…
6. Get that piece of paper (degree)
7. In the meantime, meet a nice boy/girl and get serious
8. Graduate (or get married)
9. Get married (or graduate)
10. Have babies
11. Teach them how to conform….

Annnnd done.  Gosh.  BOR-ING!

I’m sorry, I’m not saying that anyone who does this is boring or isn’t happy…
I know several people who live by these standards that are very happy, and I in turn, am happy for them.

All I’m saying is that this “plan” is not for me.  I can’t take the conformity of it…
If I don’t get a degree before I’m 24, I really don’t care.  I don’t think it makes me any less of a person…In fact, I think I have enough “real world” and professional experience to get by without one.  (I learn by doing)

Sometimes I notice family/friends look at me funny when I tell them that I am single.  Appalling, I know!!!  But seriously, I just don’t want to be married ANY time soon…or have babies ANY time soon.  I’m still getting to know myself – how could I manage to get to know a man, and a baby all at the same time?!?!

Anyways, to summarize (because I know it sounds like I’m totally bashing anyone who is young & happy, married, or preggo – but I’m not), I would just like to say that I don’t judge those who conform to this lifestyle and I would appreciate the same in return.  Just because I don’t have a degree, steady boyfriend, or marriage in the works, and just because I don’t know where I’ll be in 5 years, doesn’t make me any less of a person.

Really, I think this is just a traditional approach that our grandparents and parents pass down to us.  But, it is the 21st century, and we are entitled to form our own opinions and beliefs.  🙂  I’d like to salute my parents for raising me to think freely.

Phew,
Whitney

6 responses to “rant & rave

  1. You better be careful, you might find the love of your life next month!! 🙂

  2. haha, agreed.
    i’m sure he has impeccable timing, though…he’ll come at just the right time!! 🙂

  3. And free you are my little birdy…Keep soaring! I love you….

  4. you know what, whitney?

    you’re awesome. and you remind me of me, just a few years ago.

    *live that life*, girl. you will definitely NOT regret it.

  5. Brittany Alexander

    I second this. Granted I am in a serious relationship, but I don’t feel like I have to rush out and get married. Kudos to us for squeezing out of the conformity bubble. Although, I will say you will probably avoid it a lot longer than me. 🙂

  6. nic…you’re awesome! 🙂 i’m glad we met!!

    brittany – i’m glad you escaped the black hole, too!!! we’re so young – no need to rush annnnyyything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

