ten

I’m so bad at updating.

Lately I’ve been thinking about things I want but don’t have. Don’t be too harsh, I drive through Highland Park on my way to work every day and get to see the beautiful houses with the expensive cars and the stay-at-home moms walking their dogs in their adorable workout clothes. I mean, how could I NOT think about having newer, nicer things? But, this morning I had an epiphany. Maybe that’s a little exaggerated, but I did realize something…. I have an AMAZING life. Seriously…wouldn’t trade it for the world! So why am I so interested in these worldly things that really won’t bring me happiness or peace? I don’t know, I guess because I’m human. And those new $400 shoes would make me look SO much cuter. And people would notice them and be all “OHHMIGOSH, where did you get your shoes??!?” And I’d let girls who also wear a size 6 borrow them if they wanted to, so they can also feel super cute and confident. Then I guess I’d really be happy. Hmm, that’s just skewed thinking, really. But I guess there’s no way to avoid it. I mean, we all do it, right? We have this car, but we really want that car. We live here when we really want to live on the other side of town or in the newer house/complex/condos/whatever.

So, here are a few reasons I’m grateful:

-Overall health
-Wonderful friends
-Loving, supportive family
-A job that I actually like. That’s a rarity.
-Fantastic relationship
-The Rangers are in the World Series
-Jesus loves me

-& lots, lots more. But I don’t want to brag. ; )

We all want things we don’t have. The difficult part is looking at what we do have and being thankful for the wonderful life we’ve been given.

One response to “ten

  1. contentment leads to joy. joy persists even through lack.

    learning to be content is the “hard work” part. joy is the payoff.

    your post made me smile today, Whitney. thanks for sharing a little bit of your joy. 😀

Leave a comment